Book Review “Honeybee Cottage” by K. T. Dady

SYNOPSIS/BOOK BLURB

Honeybee Cottage

Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, drama, friendship, and love.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters.

Honeybee Cottage – The last time Joey Walker watched Josh Reynolds leave Pepper Bay was three years ago. She decided there and then that the next time he visited she would never in a million years, even if her life depended on it, sleep with him ever again. She was done with secretly being in love with him. She couldn’t keep falling into his arms every time he was around. Josh was never going to see her as anything more than a holiday fling, or a sure thing. She had made her decision and had happily stuck to it, but only because he wasn’t around. She soon realises just how hard keeping him at arm’s length actually is when he unexpectedly turns up just before Christmas.

Josh had always loved Joey, but he knew she never took him seriously. She had no reason to. Growing up, he only went to his grandmother’s family home in Pepper Bay for the summer. As an adult, he knew that the world viewed him as a playboy heir to his grandfather’s millions. This year, he was determined to prove just how reliable he could be. He was back, and on a secret mission to get Joey to fall in love with him, because she was all he had ever wanted.

REVIEW ~ NIKI PRESTON ~ 4 STARS

This is my first foray into Honeybee Cottage and Pepper Bay and I really enjoyed it. An uplifting story of boy loves girl, girl loves boy but will they ever tell each other?

Joey and Josh both have internal monologues declaring their undying love for each other but what they say out loud to each other is very different. Several times I was exasperated with their ongoing, walking on egg shells and “lets just be friends” scenarios. There is a past history to Joey and Josh’s story in the previous books but I didn’t feel like I’d missed out as the story does allude to their past relationship and Josh’s gigolo lifestyle. I really felt for Joey as she clearly loves Josh and now she just doesn’t trust him not to love her and leave her as he always does. Josh though has changed to and is fighting his demons and wants to be with Joey so much, but he believes she only wants to be friends. And round and round they go. Sparks flying every time they meet then that inner voice saying, no you can’t trust this, walk away.

The setting is beautifully described and I felt as though I knew the exact places being discussed. Quaint tiny streets with equally quaint shops. The characters are also well crafted into believable people that you feel like friends who you just want to sit down and tell them to sort it out, admit they want to be together. I felt like they need that friendly intervention.

Honeybee Cottage a heart-warming tale, written in a gentle style that pulls no punches. It’s a romance and proud to be, as it should be. If you want a cosy read with believable characters that touches your heart and takes you on an emotional rollercoaster that is Joey and Josh’s relationship, then this book and this Author are absolutely for you.

~~~~~~~~~~

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Honeybee-Cottage-Escape-uplifting-romance-ebook/dp/B08ZNMXW75

US – https://www.amazon.com/Honeybee-Cottage-Escape-uplifting-romance-ebook/dp/B08ZNMXW75

Author Bio – Author, reader, mum, chocolate lover, and a huge fan of a HEA. I was born and raised in the East End of London, and I’ve been happily writing stories since I was a little girl. When I’m not writing, I’m baking cakes or pottering around in my little garden in Essex, trying not to kill the flowers. I’m the author of contemporary romance, middle-grade, and the thought-provoking thriller about mental illness, The Focus Program.

Social Media Links –

https://ktdady.com

With Thanks for the Advance copy for the #BLOGTOUR to ….

Rachel Gilby https://www.rachelsrandomresources.com/

K. T. Dady https://ktdady.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s