Book Review “The Cold Killer” by Ross Greenwood

SYNOPSIS/BOOK BLURB

The Cold Killer

It’s hard to live when you think you deserve to die…

When a tired old inmate is found dead in his cell, the prison is obligated to investigate and so DI Barton attends. The men he interviews have been convicted of some of the worst things a human being can do, but it appears likely that the death was due to natural causes.

When the house of the dead man is burgled and that crime is followed by a suspicious fire, Barton desperately needs to speak to his widow, but she’s nowhere to be found.

In the space of twenty-four hours, everyone he wants to talk to has vanished. Then he receives some post which makes him believe he could be the next to disappear.

Barton’s investigation goes full circle, through a series of brutal murders, back to the prison, and all signs are pointing to the fact that he’s made a terrible mistake.

There’s a violent killer on the loose, who wants everyone to learn that some people deserve to die.

DI Barton is back as Ross Greenwood continues with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

REVIEW ~ NIKI PRESTON ~ 5 STARS

I am going to start by declaring my absolute love for all books by Ross Greenwood. The first one I read was Survivor (First published as Fifty Years of Fear) and from that moment on I’ve been hocked. Ross’s writing style is perfect for this genre. Hard hitting, no nonsense writing that gets down to the bones of the plot without the flim flam that a lot of books contain. There are no unnecessary characters, plots or conversations within the story. It all matters, not a word is wasted. I live in the area that Ross writes about which really makes me feel part of the story. I know exactly the areas that he is talking about and I find myself agreeing with his descriptions, they are spot on.

This is the 4th in the DI Barton series and I love DI Barton, he is complex but not in the usual, drinking, rugged, disillusioned policeman in so many crime dramas. He is a family man and loves his wife and family. He worries about his elderly mother and hates having to be away from them at all sorts of ungodly hours. He is an ordinary man, a man you can believe in, honest, hardworking and caring. A relief from the usual fed up, sad, doesn’t care about anyone kind of cop.

Once again Ross has written the most compelling book. His knowledge of the prison service shines through. The violence can be brutal but it is never unnecessary violence. The perpetrator always has a reason for doing what they do. Not something we would agree with but you do get a sense of why these people are committing the crimes they do. In The Cold Killer we really get into the mindset of the killer. He justifies what he doing as an act of vengeance for past crimes, horrific crimes that need putting right and the only “right” in his mind is death.

A cracking crime thriller that will keep you riveted right to the last page. There is a level of realism in the investigation that makes DI Barton the most believable Police character I have ever read. A truly brilliant crime drama that I could read over and over. I highly recommend if you have never read Ross Greenwood, well what are you waiting for? Trust me you won’t be disappointed.

~~~~~~~~~

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3BSESCh

Author Bio –  Ross Greenwood is the bestselling author of eight crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.

Social Media Links –

Facebook https://facebook.com/facebook.com/rossgreenwoodauthor

Twitter https://twitter.com/greenwoodross  

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/rossg555/  

Newsletter Sign Up Link http://bit.ly/RossGreenwoodNewsletter 

Bookbub profile https://www.bookbub.com/authors/ross-greenwood

With Thanks for the Advance Copy for the #Blogtour to…

Ross Greenwood https://facebook.com/facebook.com/rossgreenwoodauthor

Rachel Gilby https://www.rachelsrandomresources.com/

Boldwood Books https://www.boldwoodbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s